The 5 W's of Unpaid State Family & Medical Leave
Not sure which states have unpaid Family & Medical Leave (FML)?
Our newest infographic can help with that!
The 5 W's of Unpaid State Family Medical Leave answers your questions about unpaid, job-protected state family and medical leave laws, including:
How many states have unpaid family and medical leave laws?
- There are 10 states that have unpaid family and medical leave laws that may apply to employees and overlap with the Family & Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
How many Americans have taken time off to care for a family member?
- 23% of Americans have taken time off to care for a family member with a serious health condition.
What amount of leave is available for employees to take?
- Each state offers a different amount of leave. For example, Hawaii has four weeks of unpaid leave, while Rhode Island has 13 weeks of unpaid leave available. And, depending on the state, this might be during a 12 or 24 month period.
When are employees eligible to take leave?
- An employee is eligible when an organization employs a minimum amount of employees, ranging from 15-100 employees.
Who can employees take state FML for?
- An employee can take state FML for themselves, their child, their parent, their spouse...and more! This varies by state.
Why can employees take state FML?
- Reasons for leave can include birth or placement of a child, serious health condition, bereavement and many other reasons! Download the full version of our infographic to find out!
For the full infographic, click on the button to download or click here.